Navigating life with a teenager….who happens to have bipolar disorder

People Don’t Change

I haven’t written in a while.  It will probably be a while more before I really start writing regularly again.  We are in the midst of a challenge right now and until the outcome is upon us, it is not something I choose to write about.  Since my head is really elsewhere, you probably won’t get much of interest from me other than a few rants here or there.  I apologize for that in advance.

Here is today’s little rant.

I read something in a comment on another blog saying ‘people don’t change’.  Why do we say that? Other people will tell you they left a relationship because they ‘grew apart’ or ‘he/she wasn’t the person I married’.  Friendships begin or end because life changes or because circumstances change or, well….because we change.

We change due to age, we change due to education, we change due to life experiences.

Ask any parent of a special needs child and they will tell you that they have changed. Selfish people can become selfless, irresponsible people can become attentive, ignorant people can become aware, weak people can become strong.

I don’t think it’s about people’s lack of ability to change; it’s about being open to change and the willingness to accept the changes we make.

Comments on: "People Don’t Change" (6)

  1. NotAPunkRocker said:

    Openess to change can make all the difference, agreed.

    I am sorry you are going through tough times right now. I hope you get some peace or resolution soon.

    Like

    • Thank you. I know I am usually pretty open on here….but I am not quite sure what lies ahead in the coming weeks. I truly appreciate your support. I know you ‘get it’. 🙂

      Like

  2. Heather said:

    Caryn, I often find solace, or at least understanding in the lyrics of songs. There is an artist my husband introduced me to named Frank Turner. He sings a song that I love called “The Way I tend to Be”. My favorite lyric: “Love is about all the changes we make, and not just three small words.” I, and apparently Frank Turner, agree with you!

    Like

    • Thank you for that! I find that I escape into music, too. For our wedding, my husband and I chose ‘Life is a Song’ by Tony Bennett.

      Thank you for reading. 🙂

      Like

  3. I always thought that I was resistant to change & to some degree I still am. But if you have a special needs child & don’t adapt to change then life will be harder than it needs to be. The changes in my life have changed me that’s for sure! Hang in there x

    Like

    • I used to feel like I adapted to any situation really well…….until I had a special needs kiddo. Now I can adapt for him, because I have no choice, so I think I try to shut other changes out to keep a little balance. Change happens, whether we want it to or not. This is something I am learning to accept now.

      Thank you for reading. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

