Navigating life with a teenager….who happens to have bipolar disorder

Run Away

I know we teach our kiddos all the time to face the world and not hide from it……but I think I might have to run and hide a little this weekend.  There gets to be a point where working from home and having my son do on-line classes (or rather, spend the day arguing with my son to do his on-line classes) is just too much.  I am usually very much the homebody, but I am starting to hate the inside of my house.

Last month we made an arrangement with the high school that, since their schedule is split into 2 days, CJ would take his A day classes at school and his B day classes at home through their virtual program.  My son begged for this schedule, and it worked for the first week or so. Now, getting him to even log onto the site is a miracle.  The other day he ‘completed’ the tasks set in front of him, I then got an email from his Algebra teacher saying that he entered Pi for every single answer. I don’t know if he thought this was amusing or if he is failing on purpose.  He knows that if he doesn’t do well this semester, our next option is finding a residential school for him, because dropping out is not an option.

I am truly out of answers.  I have been fighting this battle for 14 years now and it is taking its toll on me.  I feel like I am losing the war.

So, although I don’t suggest this to my son, tomorrow, I am waving the white flag (temporarily, of course) and I am running away from home.  I will drive down the highway and hide in my best friend’s living room and pretend that no body will be able to find me…..for a few hours any way.

I just kind of wish she had a tree house, I think that would make this plan even better.  Running away just isn’t as much fun without a tree house.

 

Comments on: "Run Away" (3)

  1. NotAPunkRocker said:

    I wish I knew the answers or some advice for you. I only just got through high school with mine…

    ((hugs))

    Like

  2. Hang in there

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

