Navigating life with a teenager….who happens to have bipolar disorder

My Film Fantasy Life

Today’s DP Challenge both excited and frustrated me.

You get to spend a day inside your favorite movie. Tell us which one it is — and what happens to you while you’re there.

So here’s the challenge for me.  I LOVE movies. Picking just one is crazy hard for me……and to pick one that I would want to be a part of for a day, even harder. So, I decided to take this challenge by age.

5-10 :  Anything Muppets related.  I would have loved to hang out with Kermit at Pete’s Diner to be served soup by Rizzo and I know it’s not a movie exactly, but when I was little I wanted to live with Wembley and Mokey down in Fraggle Rock (clap clap).

fraggle rock

Dance Your Cares Away

10-15 : I wanted to be a Goonie so bad.  To go on an adventure to find One-eyed Willie was my dream.  If I was inside the Goon-docks for a day, the 12 year old girl in me would probably knock out that whiner, Andy, so I could kiss Mikey in the cave, because it will be our time…..our time down here.

goonies

Maybe this is the reason I prefer Samwise to Frodo

15-20 : My late teens was when I found my true love for old movie musicals. Kiss Me Kate is still one of my all time favorites.  If I could live in that movie for a day, it would bring my teen dream to life by making me a broadway star……that would get to sing and dance my way through Shakespeare (another one of loves I met when I was a teenager). I think I would make sure to be hanging out in the alley so I could sing ‘Brush Up Your Shakespeare’ with Slug and Lippy.

kiss me kate

Dance with Fosse? Yes, Please

20-25 : Stage Door, it is said to be one of Katherine Hepburn’s worst movies….it happens to be one of my favorites.  Oh, to spend a day at auditions with the likes of Ginger Rogers and Lucille Ball. Since I only get one day, I would definitely spend it towards the beginning of the movie…..I would not want to stick around for the devastating sadness at the end (you’ll have to watch to find out).

Stage door

 The calla lilies are in bloom again

25-30 :  Oh, to go on an adventure with Ben Gates in National Treasure.  Which day to pick, though??? As much as I hate heights, I would have to travel down the stairs beneath Parkington Lane.  To find and then roam the treasure room would be overwhelming and amazing.

national treasure
The secret lies with Charlotte

30- present : Please let me take the Hogwarts express.  I would love to spend a day with my classmates in Hogsmead or catch a Quidditch game…..but truthfully, my Harry Potter dream is to get lost in the room of requirement and inspect all of the treasures within.  It may sound boring to all of the magic loving, adventure seeking witches and wizards out there, but seriously, think about all of the magical history in that room.  The Universal theme park has done it’s best to recreate the movie….but sifting through the wonders of room of requirement is not one of them.

harry potter ror

Eat your heart out Ben Gates

Really though,  getting to spend a day inside a movie is not necessary. Anybody has the ability to lose themselves in these worlds while simply sitting on your sofa.  If you don’t, then maybe you’re not watching movies the right way.

Comments on: "My Film Fantasy Life" (2)

  1. NotAPunkRocker said:

    I like how you broke it down by periods of your life 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

