Navigating life with a teenager….who happens to have bipolar disorder

 

smelly cat
I have been wondering lately if teenage boys have a damaged sense of smell.  I can have a lovely candle burning in my office that fills the space with the sweet scent of roses and my son will blow it out stating that it smells bad….yet when I walk past his bathroom, the odor that hits my nose is that of a porta-potty.

This has definitely gotten worse since we hit the teen years.  It makes no sense to me.  He can cleanly use bathrooms in public or at friend’s homes.  He can even cleanly use our guest bathroom downstairs or our master bath…..but when it comes to his bathroom, you would think it was a boys locker room that is being used by an entire sports team. I have come to believe that teenage boys are like dogs marking their territory…..and it seems to work. It can be so bad, at times, that my bonus kid, Megan will refuse to even step foot in his bathroom to brush her teeth.

smelly

Can anyone explain this to me?  Anyone?  Mothers of older boys, please tell me this will pass.

Comments on: "He Enjoys Singing Soft Kitty….I think He Should be Singing Smelly Cat" (6)

  1. mrscrawford1998 said:

    As someone who teaches teenage boys and has a 5 yr old son myself, I can only hope they grow out of this stage. Very funny post!

    Like

  2. LOL I reckon it’s teenagers in general!! Geeg’s room is a cesspit and one I refuse to venture into these days and yet if I’m baking or burning a scented candle, she’ll walk past and say “That stinks!”.

    I give up! 🙂 xx

    Like

    • His bedroom was like that, too….until we went through a hot spell this summer and he ended up with sugar ants in his room. He actually allowed me to clean it …something he rarely lets me do. It is a little messy now….but still tolerable.
      I am actually kind of glad it happened…..and just 2 days before the bug man was due for his routine visit (a requirement here in GA as we share a habitat with a multitude of critters). I think the ants taught him a lesson that I had been trying to teach him for ages.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. NotAPunkRocker said:

    Um, not wanting to do their laundry or having you do their laundry is the biggest culprit.

    When M had girlfriends, I would welcome a “natural” smell vs. the Axe cloud he walked around in for months. 🙂

    Like

    • Luckily, we learned a lesson with Axe. My mother bought him a whole, lovely bag of axe products one Christmas…..and he had an allergic reaction to it. Thank God!!!!! One of the worst things to ever hit the shelves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

