Navigating life with a teenager….who happens to have bipolar disorder

Ladies Night

I don’t know about you, but every time I hear the term ‘ladies night’, all I can do is picture Jon Lovitz’s scene stealing rendition in The Wedding Singer.

jon lovitz

 

Tonight, our plan was to head out to hear a friend of ours sing with her band. We have heard her sing at church and family gatherings….but never with her band, which I have wanted to do for a while now(she is much, much better than Jimmie Moore).  Due to festivities surrounding my bonus kid’s birthday, I was suggesting to my husband that we change those plans in order to be more prepared.  This morning, he told me that I should go on my own and he would hold down the fort.  He said, “It’s mostly the ladies going anyway, you could use a night out”.  That got me to thinking….I am not sure when the last time I had a night out with the girls was.

Every once in a while, I go shopping with a friend or sit and chat on their sofa….but it is usually a one on one, low-key type of thing….but ladies night is not something I do very often.  The last time I actually went out with ‘the girls’ was well before Michael and I got married…..so, about 5 years ago.  The last time I attempted it, was 2 Christmas’ ago, while visiting my sisters up north.  The kiddo had such a severe meltdown, I sent my sisters without me and spent the evening with my mom, kiddo and nieces playing board games.

Such is the life as a parent of a special needs child. Sometimes, even if I am able to make plans, they fly out the window in a moments notice.  On the rare times I have made it out of the house, I would worry and check my phone on a regular basis to make sure that all is well.  It is definitely getting better as CJ ages and is becoming more independent, but I think my body and mind is use to this life we have lived for so long.  Thinking that I have a free night is something that I can’t really wrap my head around.

I have about 5 hours to decide if I am going to take him up on his offer. We will see if I venture out or stay in my safe zone.

Comments on: "Ladies Night" (6)

  1. NotAPunkRocker said:

    I hope things work out that you can get the night out you both deserve.

    I just think of the song, regardless of the scene tied to it. Kool and the Gang =awesome!

    Like

  2. You deserve a pressure-free night out with the girls, SC. “Oh, what a night,” indeed.” What’s your pleasure is time knowing that hubby has your special boys’ needs covered for the hours so you can have a ladies night? Please do for the first ime in five years. I have my fingers crossed that it works out better than board games tihis time. 🙂

    Like

    • Well…..we ended up going as a family….even the bonus kid came along. When they found out where I was going, they wanted to hear the band, too….and it was a coffee house style environment. So we all went….and then got ice cream. 🙂

      Like

      • Hmmmm. I see the smiley face. I’m glad it worked out.

        Mama deserves to let herself go, too, once every five years. Even a pressure cooker has a little hole for the steam to escape.

        Like

  3. There is something to be said for taking care of yourself. Even in a plane crash they tell you to put your oxygen mask on first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

