Navigating life with a teenager….who happens to have bipolar disorder

Are You My Father???

So….in the world of human resources (my current profession), the time of year from Thanksgiving to New Year’s can be a bit hellish. Just as the employees of the world complain about the amount of benefit information they receive and decisions they have to make before January 1st….there are those of us that have to compile and send it all.  This week started my season of madness.  Hopefully, my first round will only last about a week….but until then, I will probably have to prompt my posts, as my brain is not fully functioning. So, below is the prompt I chose for today…….

dog-and-bird-are-you-my-mother1

20. Nano Poblano is serious business. What is the silliest thing you’ve ever done that anyone has witnessed?

Not only was this following experience silly, it is….to this day, one of the most embarrassing things that has ever happened to me in public.

When I was in middle school, my family went on a trip to visit relatives in Kansas.  Summer in Kansas is not a walk in the park….it is hot…..like really hot……like Africa hot(yes, Matthew Broderick, I also did spend summers in Mississippi as a kid).  One day, following a trip to the park, I was exhausted. Our weary group entered the visitor center that housed the gift shop.  Of course, all of the kids wanted to go into the gift shop, but I was just too hot and tired to do so.

My dad and I ended up sitting on a window seat waiting for the rest of our group to return.  My cousin popped her head out of the shop and called me over to see something that in her 12 year old mind I just ‘had to see’.  I took a quick look around the shop, but then decided to return to my dad.

I walked out into the main building where there were many angled windows with window seats and I couldn’t quite remember which direction my dad was in.  In the heat of the day, I had removed my glasses and given them to him to hold, so things were a bit blurry……. but out of the corner of my eye, I saw my dad’s red shirt and denim shorts.

I rushed over to the window where he was sitting, crawled up onto the seat next to him and laid my head in his lap and said ‘Daddy, when are we leaving”. I then heard a voice saying “Do I know you little girl?”.

Yup…..this was not my dad. MY dad was sitting on the opposite window seat just shaking his head while taking out my glasses and said “I think it’s time you put these back on.”.

Comments on: "Are You My Father???" (2)

  1. Yeah. Pretty embarrassing, SC. Your dad was just a little late with your specs, wasn’t he? But life went on. Good tale for the prompt.

    Like

  2. NotAPunkRocker said:

    Oops! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

